Act 1, Scene 1: Annnd quilt!

On May 22, my longtime friend and former college roomie, Hannah, came to Northwest Arkansas for a quick visit. While she was here, we were chatting about her new apartment and she mentioned her couch was in need of a makeover via cute pillows. In a spectacular instance of luck, we wandered in I.O. Metro (which neither Han, myself, nor my boyfriend Tripp had ever visited) and discovered that they sell — fabric! Yay! Not only was it cute, but it was on sale, which meant Hannah purchased a yard for $7 or so, and we returned to the house and I set to work on the sewing machine and Han worked on fluffing stuffing (which is such a fun phrase to say, but I do hate the actual fluffing!). The result:

Me, Han, and our lovely handiwork

Me, Han, and our lovely handiwork

Two lovely, stuffed-to-the-max pillows for her couch back in Tulsa. Leave it to sewing pillows for a dear friend to inspire me to start quilting!

Although I learned how to sew at age 12, I didn’t own a sewing machine until age 22 — a new Singer was my college graduation present to myself. I sewed an apron for a friend’s birthday about a year ago, but put away my Singer for the summer (I couldn’t afford fabric!) moved to Arkansas, started working at a bookstore, and simply didn’t make time for crafting, outside of knitting a sweater for my new niece, Marley. Luckily, Hannah came along and reminded me of my love for sewing.

I picked up a jelly roll from, of all places, Walmart. I decided to get a-quiltin’, and dedicated the entirety of last Sunday to quilting. Here’s what I came up with:

details, details, details.

details, details, details.

And here’s a full view of the finished top. There are a few mistakes, but I love it. It’s my first major quilting achievement.

Full view of the finished quilt top.

Full view of the finished quilt top.

Tripp and I went to Hobby Lobby so I could attempt to find a walking foot (I am really eager to quilt this baby!), but it turns out I’ll have to order online. We did, however, track down some lovely (and not so lovely) fabrics. I made the mistake of telling Tripp “pick out some fabrics, I’ll make you a quilt next”. I tried to give him some guidance regarding wise color and pattern choices, but he discovered:

That's right. Dinosaur print.

That's right. Dinosaur print.

and several “coordinating” fabrics:

Yep, those are dogs in the background.

Yep, those are dogs in the background.

Ah well. There’s no accounting for taste. I think he was actually just trying to make it as tacky as possible.

I did manage to get a couple of nice, simple polka dots for future quilting endeavors. Bumble bees, as well, for extra cute points: polkadotsbees2

To complete the fun, summery delights of the day, Tripp and I collected our change

cents

and went for a dip in the community pool. As a final tribute to the deliciousness of the day, I baked some brownies for all to enjoy!

Delectable!

Delectable!

Until my next little project is worked on, I bid you adieu!

k

Leave a Reply

