Holidays! Gifts! New Sewing Machine!

Well, it’s been quite a while since I last posted…apologies. Hope everyone had a Happy Christmas/Hanukkah, etc. We’ve had a lot going on here in Austin.

I got my new sewing machine in a few days ago, haven’t had much of a chance to fire it up because of the holidays. I had various knitting projects to finish/gifts to stitch. I think she may need to be oiled a bit before I can do anything with her, but so far everything seems to be working fine with her (knock on wood).

Tomorrow is New Year’s Eve, which is my very favorite holiday. Exciting! I don’t have any plans and Tripp will be at work, but I may end up with friends…not too sure.

January 8-10 Tripp and I will be going to NYC! We’re really excited as neither of us have ever had a chance to visit before. We’ll be going to be interviewed for a documentary. I’ll be able to give a bit more info after we return.

I received some awesome gifts for Christmas:

-A pair of red TOMS from Tripp

Also from Tripp, Last Night in Twisted River by John Irving (newest book by my favorite author)

and Mad Men, Season 2! If you are wondering if I’ve already watched all 12 episodes, the answer is yes — in 2 days. This show is insanely addicting. If you have never seen it, I’d highly recommend it. I’m not usually a fan of dramas, but this is an excellent show. Also, period costumes! I am a huge sucker for period costumes/settings.

Lastly, and perhaps most relevant-ly (not sure if that’s a word, but 2009 is almost over and I’m feeling kinda reckless), my dear friend Kathryn got me this:

I can’t wait to try out some of the patterns!

Of course I’ll be back to work on Ezra’s quilt soon. I also recently mastered hand-sewing and even learned to blind-stitch a hem, so if this machine gives me fits like my last one did while quilting, I may be hand sewing his quilt 🙂

More soon!

K

Leave a Reply

